icon bedding
now we all have our fashion icons or those who we look up too. I do have modern day people, I find incredibly chic and love too see how they dress, but my main icons have always been from the past. There is something about the old Hollywood icons, that protected such stardom and effortless style. Now we all have different budgets and most live without a glam team,to help us get ready, but what I find so charming about these past icons is, their look isn’t to difficult to emulate and is always chic. We all know fashion comes and goes and we like to dip into trends but if you have a classic palette that you can add your “must season”items too you keep looming fresh and polished.
I hope my style embodies this. Over the last year, I have undergone a make under if you will. Less “snog marry avoid” and more just with age. We tone down. Once a fan of false lashes platinum blonde hair and red lips I’ve gone in favour of newly brunette locks(later too add some blonde back) and the facial hair. Turning from stubble to a beard. Which seems to have gone down well. I did always say at 30 I would tone my look. Leaving fun and love of avant and couture but still harking to my love of old school chic. This new look a touch more masculine. So I came to think whom I could hark back too to inspire this transformation. My icons have always been Audrey Hepburn (breakfast at tiffany my all time favourite film and a must when anxiety is bad or having the mean reds) grace Kelly ( so chic Hermes named a bag after her) so Male counter parts i’ve always loved the Rat pack. I think my grandad had a influence there. So the style of the time, was incredibly tailored and glamorous. There is something about a great suit and polo neck ot a classic DJ (dinner jacket/tux) .

Now we all have comfort blankets in our wardrobes . Those days were you don’t feel good , I have several of those. Having suffered from a eating disorder , i’m still quite conscious of my appearance. Which the old look would hide by lashes and hair etc. To those going through this difficult time. I can’t tell you to stop but I do wish you the strength to deal with this. If anyone would like, I would happily write about my experience with a ED .
back to the fashion part. The reason you joined me for. The new style has started to take place , now looking to find that comfort zone and project the new approach.

My love has always been in textures of fabrics. Certain feels remind of a loved one or times of the year.
I find soft waterfull type scarfs always look great and add a touch of personalitu to your outfit, also giving you a barrier to hide lumps and bumps. Well I do any way. My go too on a bad day. Also that snuggle aspect now its chilly is great. Scented with your favourite perfume or relaxing oil, gives that cosy element.

Im a big fan of the oversized look. Not baggy as that’s unflattering and can make you feel worse but the loose tailoring of Stella Mccartney for instance is a great way to cover the parts you don’t like, while maintaining a well put together look.now I know not on everyone’s budget. But the joys of our incredible British high street, you can get the look else where. Many stores have channelled the look of Stella and of course my current day Icon Victoria Beckham. Her utterly flawless collections have filtered to many shops now. Fashion should show your personality and make you feel great. No one should tell you how to dress. I merely just write my personal thoughts on the subject , but I may add , the reason miss Hebburn, grace Kelly, Jackie O ‘s looks haven’t dated, is they choice well edited , classic looks with a twist of fun. People should remember the person not the outfit detracting from that.

As future posts come , I hope to show how to put looks together and show my personality in fashion on good and bad days. After all we are all human , we make mistakes , we love fully hearted , we crave to be loved back. I aim to inspire people to lay themselves bare and open up, to help others . I leave you with a few quotes that help me on bad day.
Warm regards
may your day be filled with glamour,warmth and love.IMG_20141115_205345Audrey

